RSS

My Guilty Pleasures: Dark Chocolate Truffles, Magic Cookie Bars and Biscotti

24 Jan
My Guilty Pleasures: Dark Chocolate Truffles, Magic Cookie Bars and Biscotti

IMG_2967

As I’m sitting here writing I decide to check my purse for a little something sweet. I usually have dark chocolate on me at all times. It’s insane, I know. But who doesn’t love chocolate? Instead of eating the Dove miniature that I usually embibe in, I was happy to discover I put some home made chocolate truffles in my purse this morning. My dark chocolate truffles are the perfect treat when you need a little pick me up. They are my “go to” guilty pleasure in a pinch. Recipe here for Ganache

 

Some folks require ice cream to satisfy their cravings, and I’m not opposed to that at all.In fact, a scoop of coffee ice cream with chocolate chunks is just the right amount of sweet and a nice boost in the mid day if you like coffee.

 

Speaking of desserts, I met a few friends last month at a nearby restaurant called Parada. Sharon, Elyse, Linda and I were celebrating Lisa’s birthday during lunch on a quiet Saturday afternoon. I’ve known these women for over 20 years since our kids attended the same elementary school and swim team. We spent time at boy scout outings together camping and hiking. It was nice to get together and share stories, lunch and get caught up.

IMG_2776 (1)

The food at Parada was delicious. We shared the roasted chicken, had a few salads and a couple of appetizers. The only disappointment was finding out that they didn’t offer dessert for the birthday girl. What’s up with that? Why would I go back to this restaurant again knowing they choose not to surprise their guests with a little something sweet at the end of their meal? Luckily, I brought everyone individual servings of my magic cookie bar that I had made the night before. You see, my family is not big on chocolate. Hard to believe, huh? So I happened to have a huge pan of these delicious treats to share and celebrate Lisa’s birthday. And I like to get these wonderful goodies out of my house before I eat them myself. Lisa was thrilled!

IMG_2770

Here’s Elyse and Lisa entering the Peruvian Restaurant Parada.
IMG_2759 (1)

Magic Cookie Bars

Ingredients:

2 Pkgs of Graham Crackers crushed in food processor

1 stick unsalted butter melted

1 tsp cinnamon

½ C sugar

 

2 Cans Sweetened Condensed Milk

2 C Chocolate Chips High quality like Ghirardelli, Valrhona

1 ½ C Shredded or flaked coconut

1 C toasted and chopped Walnuts

Directions:

Melt butter in small saucepan. Place graham crackers in food processor (or crush in a extra large ziplock bag with a rolling pin). Add sugar and cinnamon to crushed crackers and blend. Add melted butter and blend again.

 

Place mixture in a foil lined or parchment lined 13 X 9 pan. I used a slightly larger pan my Pampered Chef Bar Pan. Smooth. Sprinkle chocolate chips, coconut and walnuts over crust. Pour 2 cans of condensed milk over the top. Bake in a preheated 350 degree oven for about 30- 40 minutes until brown and bubbly. Cool. Cut into squares and serve warm if possible.

IMG_2758 (1)

Bonus Recipe:

My friends on Instagram are waiting for my cranberry orange and pistachio biscotti recipe. I made these crunchy and tart cookies to bring to Tom my step Dad. He has been suffering from the lousy cold that is going around so these cookies are sure to cheer him up. Here’s the recipe:

IMG_2899

Cranberry Orange and Pistachio Biscotti

 

2 C All Purpose Flour

1 C Sugar (Plus 2 T to sprinkle on at end)

1t Baking Powder

3 Eggs

2 T Brandy

2 T Cointreau Liqueur

1 t vanilla

1 t Anise extract

Zest from 1 large Orange

1 C whole fresh cranberries (Can substitute dried)

1 C toasted Pistachios

 

Preheat oven to 325 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Mix flour sugar and baking powder together in a large bowl.

In medium size bowl, whisk eggs, brandy, cointreau, vanilla, and anise.

Add egg mixture to dry ingredients until combined. Mix in pistachios.

Transfer dough to a prepared lined sheet pan. Shape dough into a 5inch wide and ½ inch high loaf. Sprinkle on 2 T granulated sugar.

Bake until firm and dry about 30 to 35 minutes when it is golden brown.

IMG_2898

 

Remove pan from oven and slice loaf on a diagonal into ¼ to ½ inch thick slices. Arrange cookies cut side down onto the sheet pan and bake again until golden brown about 7 or 10 minutes. I prefer them not too crunchy, so I don’t bake them too long during the second bake only 7 minutes.

If you have any questions for me or you want to talk about your guilty pleasure, leave me comments below. I’d be honored.

IMG_2904 (1)

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “My Guilty Pleasures: Dark Chocolate Truffles, Magic Cookie Bars and Biscotti

  1. King Ben's Grandma

    January 24, 2018 at 7:18 am

    I’m making a new rule for myself. I’m not allowed to read your yummy posts before bedtime (when my sweet tooth is already in overdrive) anymore. 😄
    Dark chocolate really is the yummiest!🍫

     
    • terismyth

      January 24, 2018 at 2:15 pm

      Ohh 😮 . I guess I will take that as a compliment. I do try to consume these beloved treats with caffeine earlier in the day as to not interfere with my precious sleep.
      I really want to thank you for commenting.
      How are things w Ben these days? And more importantly how are you fairing?

       
  2. King Ben's Grandma

    January 24, 2018 at 9:26 pm

    Definitely a compliment!
    Ben will be moving to a “non public school” as soon as the district finds placement for him. He is and always has been a runner. His elopement is still the biggest safety issue and it’s a major obstacle to his education. It’s not all bad though. He’s generally a happy kid.
    I am hanging in there. One day at a time. I’m still determined to find the humor in everything as often as possible. I’m glad the stress of the holiday season is over.

     
    • terismyth

      January 24, 2018 at 10:29 pm

      Ohhh. Glad Ben will be in a better private setting. I’m sure it’s safer. Is escaping common in kids on the spectrum?
      My son took off when he was a toddler, but that didn’t last long.
      Glad you have a good attitude and see the funny moments in life. Things can seem way too serious sometimes. I think i will take this lesson from you and apply it to my own life.
      I’m tired of worrying. No fun in that.
      And yes, I’m happy that the holidays are over too!
      Happy Wednesday. 😀👍👊👩‍❤️‍👩

       

Leave a comment